Our Members

Membership Structure
The Thurston Regional Planning Council (TRPC) is comprised of elected officials from jurisdictions and organizations in the Thurston region. Members meet monthly to discuss topics important to the area’s growth and quality of life. Please see the calendar for a listing of council meetings, dates and times.
Regional Coordination
Along with the development and implementation of numerous studies and projects, the Thurston Regional Planning Council plays a strong role in the regional coordination and facilitation on many subjects:
  • Coordination between jurisdictions, citizens, businesses, and other interests to plan a direction for the region's future
  • Exploring issues and opportunities, and evaluating the consequences of choices both big and small
  • Weighing alternatives and prioritizing between important and sometimes competing options, making difficult decisions, and at times, having to reconsider a decision
  • Looking at the region and seeing not individual planning elements, but integrating ideas and visions for community livability, environmental quality, social equity, fiscal responsibility, economic vitality – across whole generations
Member Jurisdiction
Jurisdiction Member
Town of Bucoda
Alan Vanell
City of Lacey
Virgil Clarkson, Chair
City of Olympia
Nathaniel Jones, Secretary
City of Rainier
Everett Gage
City of Tenino
David Watterson
City of Tumwater
Tom Oliva, Vice Chair
City of Yelm
Robert Isom
Thurston County
Sandra Romero
Intercity Transit
Karen Messmer
LOTT Clean Water Alliance
Cynthia Pratt
Port of Olympia
Bill McGregor
PUD No. 1 of Thurston County
Russell Olsen
Olympia School District
Mark Campeau
North Thurston Public Schools
Chuck Namit
Confederated Tribes of the Chehalis Reservation
Amy Loudermilk
Nisqually Indian Tribe
Heidi Thomas
Associate Members
Thurston County Economic Development Council
Michael Cade
Lacey Fire District #3
Gene Dobry
Puget Sound Regional Council

Timberland Regional Library
Cheryl Heywood
The Evergreen State College
Jeanne Rynne